Darkness and Light.

Little kids are afraid of the dark.

They have every right to be. Something inside them instinctively fears the night, because night means evil and monsters and nightmares.

Little did I know that the monsters under my bed would slither into my mind while I slept, and suddenly I couldn’t just wish my nightmares away anymore. After all, I couldn’t run away from myself, try as I might.

In the midst of silencing my demons, however, I found this little thing called light. When the light came, the darkness inside me began to seem a little less dark.

I had found something that chased away the nightmares in my head. Or, rather, He found me.

And, after a lifetime of running and hiding, with Him I had the strength and the desire to fight. My resiliency could finally be turned into a weapon, rather than a shield.

I am no longer afraid of the darkness. I don’t cower in the face of my demons. I never have to run away again.

After all, I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

One thought on “Darkness and Light.

Leave a Reply

